Standard time zones in Canada

Victor Mochere
4 Min Read

There are 6 standard time zones in Canada, and 4 of them are the same as in the USA. Legally all matters concerning local time are officially regulated by the provincial legislation and decisions of the municipalities, that’s why in practice many exceptions apply in some provinces. Almost all the provinces of Canada apply the Daylight Saving Time (DST) in the warm period of the year, excluding the most territory of Saskatchewan (SK) and some exceptions in British Columbia (BC), Ontario (ON), Quebec (QC) and Nunavut (NU). The DST schedule in Canada synchronized with the USA.

Time zones in Canada

Here are the 6 standard time zones in Canada.

  1. UTC-03:30 Newfoundland Time Zone includes the entire island of Newfoundland and the southeastern part of the Labrador region.
  2. UTC-04:00 Atlantic Time Zone comprises most of Labrador and three other provinces – New Brunswick (NB), Nova Scotia (NS), Prince Edward Island (PE).
  3. UTC-05:00 Eastern Time Zone encompasses the eastern part of Nunavut (NU), most of Ontario (ON) and Quebec (QC) provinces.
  4. UTC-06:00 Central Time Zone includes entire Manitoba (MB), Saskatchewan (SK) with small exception and quite a big piece of Nunavut (NU).
  5. UTC-07:00 Mountain Time Zone comprises wholly Alberta (AB) and Northwest Territories (NT), also the western part of Nunavut (NU), the small exception in Saskatchewan (SK), the eastern and southeastern districts of British Columbia (BC).
  6. UTC-08:00 Pacific Time Zone covers most of British Columbia (BC) and entire Yukon (YT).

Time zones for the provinces and territories of Canada

Here are the provinces and territories of Canada with their standard time zones and DST.

Province/territory or part thereofCapital and the largest cityUTC time offsetDST
Alberta (AB)Edmonton, Calgary-07:00-06:00
British Columbia (BC), most ofVictoria, Vancouver-08:00-07:00
British Columbia (BC), part of Peace River DistrictDawson Creek-07:00none
British Columbia (BC), part of Central Kootenay DistrictCreston-07:00none
British Columbia (BC), East Kootenay District and Columbia ValleyCranbrook-07:00-06:00
Manitoba (MB)Winnipeg, Brandon-06:00-05:00
New Brunswick (NB)Fredericton, Saint John-04:00-03:00
Newfoundland and Labrador (NL), Newfoundland and southeastern coast of LabradorSt. John’s-03:30-02:30
Newfoundland and Labrador (NL), Labrador, except of southeastern coastLabrador City-04:00-03:00
Northwest Territories (NT)Yellowknife-07:00-06:00
Nova Scotia (NS)Halifax-04:00-03:00
Nunavut (NU), Southampton IslandCoral Harbour-05:00none
Nunavut (NU), east of 85°WIqaluit-05:00-04:00
Nunavut (NU), between 85°W and 102°WBaker Lake-06:00-05:00
Nunavut (NU), west of 102°WCambridge Bay-07:00-06:00
Ontario (ON), most ofToronto,
Ottawa (capital of Canada)
Ontario (ON), Quetico Provincial ParkAtikokan-05:00none
Ontario (ON), western part of Northwestern OntarioKenora-06:00-05:00
Prince Edward Island (PE)Charlottetown-04:00-03:00
Quebec (QC), most ofQuebec City, Montreal-05:00-04:00
Quebec (QC), small part along the coast of the Gulf of Saint LawrenceBlanc-Sablon-04:00none
Saskatchewan (SK), most ofRegina, Saskatoon-06:00none
Saskatchewan (SK), small partLloydminster-07:00-06:00
Yukon (YT)Whitehorse-08:00-07:00
Share This Article
Victor Mochere is a blogger, social media influencer, and netpreneur creating and marketing digital content.
Leave a comment